Monday, 25 August 2008

pick of the crop - olssens rocks! has a great story about my favourite vineyard winning the Bragato wine awards.

i had half a case of this pinot sent up last week and everyone I gave it to reckons it was fantastic.

I have been singing its praises for many a year now.

its a vineyard well worth a visit -with its great gardens and scultpures - the rest of the vineyards in the bannockburn cluster are also worth look.

go olssens!

Romeo Bragato was an Italian viticulturalist who arrived in New Zealand in 1895 at the invitation of the government and laid many of the foundations for the modern wine industry.
Award winners:
Champion wine of show, Bragato Trophy, champion pinot noir: Olssens Jackson Barry Pinot Noir 2007, Olssen's Garden Vineyard – Central Otago, John Olssen
Reserve champion wine: Palliser Estate Chardonnay 2007, Palliser Vineyard – Martinborough, Allan Johnson
Champion amateur wine: Silverton Road Merlot Cabernet Malbec 2007, Silverton Road Vineyard – Hawke's Bay, Bruce Leppard
Champion dessert wine: Askerne Noble Semillon 2006, Askerne Vineyard – Hawke's Bay, Kathryn and John Loughlin
Champion riesling: Seifried Riesling 2007, Seifried Estate – Nelson, Hermann Seifried
Champion gewurztraminer: Saint Clair Pioneer Block 12 Lone Gum Gewurztraminer 2007, Lone Gum Vineyard – Marlborough, Chris and Judy Simmonds
Champion pinot gris: Waimea Bolitho SV Pinot Gris 2007, TH & RM Bolitho Vineyard – Nelson, Trevor Bolitho
Champion sauvignon blanc: Saint Clair Pioneer Block `Oh' Block Sauvignon Blanc 2008, Buckland Grove Vineyard – Marlborough, Martin and Gail Goyne
Champion chardonnay: Palliser Estate Chardonnay 2007, Palliser Vineyard – Martinborough, Allan Johnson
Champion cabernet sauvignon: Mills Reef Elspeth Cabernet Sauvignon 2006, Mere Road Vineyard – Hawke's Bay, Paddy and Tim Preston
Champion classical red wine: Saint Clair Rapaura Reserve Merlot 2006, Rapaura Vineyard – Marlborough, Neal and Judy Ibbotson
Champion syrah: Newton Forrest Syrah 2006, Cornerstone Vineyard – Hawke's Bay, Bob Newton
Champion other red wine, Beach House Montepulciano 2007, The Track Vineyard – Hawke's Bay, Chris Harrison.

No comments: